Roger Hawcroft
1 min readMay 31, 2024

--

Bella Smith: Once and nevermore

One of the few really powerful poems I have read on this platform. in my view, it deserves to be shared and heard widely.

It is concise, emotive but rational and so deeply evocative of what so many women must have felt or feel. I also see it as being a powerful inspiration for those still enmeshed in pain, confusion and despair.

Perhaps, as a man, I have no right to say this but I will and apologise if it offends for I don't mean to patronise or presume but, to me, this poem represents what could be an anthem for all the women who have or still do suffer the ignorance, harmful conditioning, carelessness, indifference or selfish and often brutal entitlement of, sadly, still far too many men.

My congratulations on an excellent poem which, with your permission, I'd like to share as widely as I'm able, though I am a nobody and reclusive so my influence is limited, if it exists at all. Still, every little can make a difference, i believe. As Margaret Mead said:

“Never believe that a few caring people can’t change the world for, indeed, that’s all who ever have.” (Margaret Mead)

Take care. Stay safe. ☮️

--

--

Roger Hawcroft

Expat Tyke in Australia. Dismayed & depressed at World conflict/poverty/disadvantage/hatred. Buoyed by music, art, literature, nature, animals & birds.