Roger Hawcroft
2 min readMay 6, 2024

So you should be, though I'm saddened that you had to go through so much to get to where you are now and for the all too many other women and girls who have or do experience similar situations with males who call themselves 'men' - and, to me, are such a disgrace to my sex that I often feel ashamed that I was born male.

You are brave to recount your story. I sincerely will that it helps others, perhaps to recognise sooner rather than later when they are being manipulated.

The one thing I'd disagree with is your notion that 'divine intervention' was what helped you. Religion has been forever a major cause of abuse and demeaning of women, as well as the creation of stereotypes of what women ought to be.

Now you have the ability to say 'NO', I suggest that you also say no to the idea that some other entity was responsible for your escape, for I believe that, in fact, if was you who realised and did the work. Perhaps, as a male, my opinion doesn't count but my experience of women is that they are far stronger than, (as a generalisation), they tend to realise. It sickens me that a patriarchal world of many generations has conditioned them to accept fictions about their capability and worth.

Thankfully, at last, there is greater understanding by women and some men of the inequities and worse that women have suffered and that many still do. I look forward to the day when such indignities are all in the past and no one any longer even considers that women are any less than men because both that both are of equal worth is simply taken for granted.

Take care. Stay safe. ☮️

Roger Hawcroft

Expat Tyke in Australia. Dismayed & depressed at World conflict/poverty/disadvantage/hatred. Buoyed by music, art, literature, nature, animals & birds.